Admitted to HEC & EM Lyon (Grande Ecole - MSc , not MBA

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:680
Hi all,

Whenever I was discouraged while preparing for grad school, I visited this forum and then gained hope. I wanted to share whatever information I had with you guys so anyone who wants these types of information can get some insight.

I first want to clarify (though I also mentioned on the subject) that I got into MSc not MBA. I actually applied to these schools as I liked their Grande Ecole program but for I don't want to confuse those who will apply to HEC MBA, etc. Also, the program I applied was for international students so one can apply to maximum 5 grande ecoles. That is how I got accepted to both at once.

First of all, my profile.

I am an Asian female, I graduated from one of the top 5 universities in my country and I studied business administration. I lived abroad for approximately 6 years but I was very young at that time so I will not say that my writing skill is great.

I was Summa Cum Laude in my class and I also entered as the top of my class. I will say that I do think that the interviewers loved this as they kept asking about my GPA. However, I do think that MSc tend to focus more on grades than MBA.

When I applied, my GMAT was 680 and that was my third try. To be honest, until recently I had no idea that multiple tries might be considered negative; I was pretty naive so I just took the test until I was satisfied with the score.

I will also add that I applied twice to HEC and before my GMAT score was 640. I got to the interview but I wasn't admitted at that time. However, the school did send me an email asking me to try again for another program but I was focusing on the grande ecole program at that time.