Ask an MIT Sloan Student

Talk to current MBA students about life in MBA programs (not for app advice/discussion)
This topic has expert replies
MBA Student
Followed by:26 members
GMAT Score:760

Ask an MIT Sloan Student

by therealtomrose » Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:19 pm
Hi all. I'm Tom Rose, a second year at MIT Sloan. I would be happy to answer MIT Sloan questions for the community. Here is some info about me:

Before School: I have been a teacher for 10 years. Just prior to Sloan, I worked at Duke University teaching engineering design. I was the director of the Duke Smart Home Program (https://smarthome.duke.edu), a live-in laboratory focused on smarter living, for 3 years and built the first LEED Platinum residence hall on the planet.

During School: I co-host a weekly show for MBA's called The MBA Show(www.TheMBAShow.com). I was also the Commodore of the MIT Nautical Association, a sailing program with over 1500 active members. I also served as the fleet commander of our graduation trip a 200-person, $300k fleet of 18, 45ft Catamarans in the BVI. That's actually still upcoming, so fingers crossed. Oh yeah, and over the summer, I worked at HubSpot, the best run company I have ever been graced by.

After School: I'm starting a company called Testive (www.testive.com) which brings adaptive testing techniques to the SAT. I'm also scaling up production of The MBA Show (www.TheMBAShow.com) and will continue working at ManhattanGMAT (www.ManhattanGMAT.com)

I am happy to take your questions about anything really, but let's try to stick to Sloan :)

-Tom Rose
www.TheMBAShow.com

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members

by beatthegmat » Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:23 pm
Tom, thanks so much for volunteering to field student life questions for our community! We're so excited to have an MIT Sloan representative here!
Beat The GMAT | The MBA Social Network
Community Management Team

Research Top GMAT Prep Courses:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/gmat-prep-courses