MBA, my chances, possible options? Please advise me.

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi

I would appreciate if you can advise me on my best possible course of action.

Background
I am from Singapore. Native Chinese. 27 years of age. Good command of english. Served mandatory National Service in the Civil Defence Force for 2 years.

Undergrad
Initially, i was enrolled in a Polytechnic as an Engineering student but didnt like it so i dropped out and I did the University of London External Degree in Accoounting and Finance in Singapore but only graduated with a second class lower honours. the reason for my low grade is not because i played too hard but becuase i took my first year part time while i was serving national service and had to work part-time as a waiter to fund my second and final years.

Current situation
I have 2 yrs of work experience. 1 year in the sales team of a mutual fund house. 1 year corporate banking role at an int'l bank. although both roles were in front office teams, i was mainly restricted to a support role.

i have been told by industry insiders that my 2nd lower external degree is the thing that is holding me back from jobs which i would like to pursue such as investment banking or consultancy.

Now, i have saved enough to fund my further education. and i am preparing for my GMAT. Assuming i score 650-7XX, do i have a decent chance in being accepted to the top 15 MBA progs?

If not, realistically, what MBA progs should i consider?
&
Are MBAs not from the tier1 programmes even worth it? i dont want to spend only to find out that it does not add value to my career prospects.

Sorry for the long post. I woudl greatly appreciate your input.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:750+

by VP_MBA_Guru » Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:16 am
Hi Jon,
Thanks for your post!