To MBA or not MBA?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

To MBA or not MBA?

by lotus lion » Thu May 22, 2008 12:44 am
Hi,

I am considering pursuing an MBA, but am not sure if i have the correct experience or know enough about it to make the right decision.

I have searched on the site, but could not find anything. Also, if this has been asked before, please do feel free to point me in the right direction.

I am not exactly sure of the contents of an MBA, What it can ultimately do for me, and if i should be specializing.

My expertise lies in IT. Started off in Desktop but it is more Server and Network orientated now.

It has always been in the Investment Banks and i have over 4 years experience now.

I have a degree (2:1) in the subject from a respectable London University also.

If anyone could let me know if they feel I would be suitable, any upcoming fairs, or where else i could be looking, it would be appreciated.

My best regards,

Lotus

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:750+

by VP_MBA_Guru » Thu May 22, 2008 5:26 am
Hi Lotus,
Can you tell us more about your background - particularly your interest in pursing an MBA. Are you looking to switch from IT to a different field (finance, marketing, strategy)? Do you want a different role within IT (consulting, project management). Think about where you would like to be in 5-10 years and how an MBA might help you achieve this career path.

Since you work in an investment bank - a great place to start learning about the MBA (and application process) is with co-workers who went to business school. They should be able to shed some perspective (albeit from a finance/banking angle) on the MBA program. Also check out school websites, MBA fairs, students/alumnis and MBA Admissions Consultants.