Regretting my part-time UF MBA

Talk to current MBA students about life in MBA programs (not for app advice/discussion)
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Regretting my part-time UF MBA

by Ashish8 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:49 pm
I've only been to one class so far and I'm already rethinking my decision to pursue an MBA. First and foremost I'm a software engineer and very much do enjoy coding. After working for a bank, I got excited about a career in Investment Banking. Now that I'm full headfirst into the program, I pretty confident UF isn't the school to get me to wall street, combined with the fact part-timers don't have access to any career placement services I've started to loose faith in my career move. I guess my main reason to get a MBA was because I thought I was peaking salary wise ( < $100K) in my engineering career. I don't see myself as some person who stares at spreadsheets all day, because I've "graduated" into management. Anyone have any advice? It would be great to hear from someone who has already done the part-time MBA route and gotten a career benefit.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

by amit28it » Thu May 03, 2012 10:59 pm
In my opinion you should continue with MBA and you will get many opportunities after completing it.

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:12 members
GMAT Score:710

by cheetarah1980 » Sat May 12, 2012 6:19 pm
Can I ask how you decided on attending UF? Did you look at the school's placement stats for PT students into the jobs you desire?

As a general rule of thumb career switchers tend to go for FT MBA programs for the on campus recruiting and summer internship opportunities. Simply having an MBA is not a ticket to Wall Street, especially not an investment banking role on Wall Street. If we had a better idea of your rationale for choosing your program we could give you a better idea of whether or not it's worth it to continue.