SJSU vs Santa Clara University

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

SJSU vs Santa Clara University

by juhi » Fri May 02, 2008 6:13 pm
Hi,

Im currently in HR & business development. I wish to enroll in mba and specialize in finance.

I would like to know which school is better out of San Jose State University & Santa Clara University in terms of changing my field to finance and getting a better paying job. If I look at the cost aspect, SJSU will cost me about 1/4 or 1/3 of what SCU will cost as I am a resident of CA.

If there is any student who is currently in either college, or anyone who has an opinion, I would love to hear!

Thanks
Juhi

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:750+

Silicon Valley Programs...

by VP_MBA_Guru » Sat May 03, 2008 6:36 pm
Hi Juhi,

I did some research on those programs for a friend earlier this year. While they are both great regional schools, I think Santa Clara has a better reputation. I was impressed by their alumni network in the Bay Area, extra-curricular activities and curriculum. From what I hear, the school is making great strides in improving the school's overall reputation among recruiters. Since you are trying to make a career change, you would be better off in a higher ranked program.

But like you said, tuition is a lot less at SJSU. You might want to research the recruiters and alumni from SJSU. Do the companies you are interested recruit from the program? Are there alumni from the program who work at companies that interest you? If so, SJSU could be a good option.

In either program (probably moreso at SJSU) make sure you work hard to network with alumni and companies to find the right opportunity post-MBA.

p.s. have you also considered UC Davis? I don't know too much about their MBA program, but I have heard good things...

Hope that helps!

Regards,

NP
Nikhil P. | Admissions Consultant | Veritas Prep