GMAT not yet over for me 640 (Q49, V28)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

GMAT not yet over for me 640 (Q49, V28)

by kulksnikhil » Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:01 pm
Hello Eric and friends,

I just took my GMAT on monday and the score has not been satisfactory. Though I got good score in Quant (49) My verbal has been terrible.

I would attribute this to my over confidence in Verbal/less confidence in Quant.

Earlier in the OG Diagonistic test, I did find out that, my verbal needs to be improved. So I started with verbals. Between I realised my verbal has come to some steady state and so started with quant and realised that, I have realy neglected quant a lot. So in panic I studied more of Quant, giving confidence to my self that "OK don't worry, your Verbal is better".

But in the end, Quant, though it came well, verbal went real bad.

Well, as far as my Quant is concerned, I have to thank those who helped me on board "Beatthegmat". Eric, aim-wsc , raj, 800guy, and many others.

But the battle is still not over, would be great if you could give me some tips upon improving my verbals. I am planning first increase my reading speed. Planning to use some software for the purpose.

Please advice.

thanks and regards,
Nikhil

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:5 members

by 800guy » Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:33 pm
hey man, sorry to hear about your disappointment...but you totally CRACKED the quant!!

i'm sure you'll break 700 on your retake. good luck

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members
Hi Nikhil:

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't reach your goal for the GMAT on Monday--but as 800guy stated, you did a fantastic job on your quant! I'm glad to hear that this performance has not deterred your ambitions for retaking and getting a 700+.