Ask a Booth Student

Talk to current MBA students about life in MBA programs (not for app advice/discussion)
This topic has expert replies
Community Manager
Followed by:27 members
GMAT Score:710

Ask a Booth Student

by dmateer25 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 2:26 pm
Want to talk to a Booth student about the Booth student experience? Ask here!

We're lucky to have one of our own BTG members to answer your questions!

*Cory Burns, 1st Year (in the fall)

Please note that this isn't a discussion thread (or forum) for application advice. It's meant for talking about life inside the Booth program.

A big thanks to our Booth volunteer!

MBA Student
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:730

by ultraeasy » Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:05 pm
Hey. I'm new to this business school thing. I've never taken a business class, in fact. But, like many of you here, I spent a full year reading forums, contacting current students and alum, visiting campuses, refining career goals, and searching for that perfect match between my mission and an institution. With admissions behind me [big sigh of relief], I feel fortunate to now be a member of the Booth community.

This school has done an exceptional job communicating every step of the admission's process and, once admitted, an even better job of hazing us with phone calls, local happy hours, admit weekends, career discovery exercises, and active email groups, leaving us no doubt that we have already begun the transformative process that top business schools boast before classes have even begun. Cool.

I will have much more info to share as classes begin, but my research was exhaustive, and I can rattle off any Booth fact recently published, and can even back some of it with personal testimony. Why are you considering Booth? Can community exist without cohorts? Are the professors as good as they claim? Should you be a Cubs or Sox fan?

I'll do my best to answer your questions as they arise.

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by amit_2010 » Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:20 pm