Military Officer Admissions Question

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members

Military Officer Admissions Question

by rmcguire7 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:39 am
I have an atypical application and after searching far and wide for a similar profile, I have not found one. Here are my big three stats:
GMAT: 620 (39q 36v)
GPA: 3.44 BA History '05
Work Experience: 6 years (when I apply) plus 2.5 years part time 

I have been an Army officer since graduating and will have served in Korea, Iraq, and Afghanistan (all for 12 months) in a variety of positions. Of note are two:
1) Fire Support Officer- I signed for and distributed over $6,000,000 cash to the local community in efforts to rebuild their economy. Started and was in charge o numerous work and security programs and started and led a  3.000+ member Farmers Coop which was successfully linked into the Iraqi Ministry of Agriculture. 
I did this with no business background and is what inspired me to move into the business world and get an MBA.

2) Brigade Intelligence Officer- This is a Major's position that I am filling as a Captain, so I am definitely working in a position above my peers.

I plan on using both in my essays and anticipate the essays being a strength.

I have 3 questions:

1) Without taking my GMAT over, will my GPA and work experience mitigate the 620? Do I look like a strong candidate for schools with a higher average GMAT score than mine, but in which I fall into their 80% (i.e. Duke's 80% is from 620-750, but average is ~685)? I am looking at Duke, USC, and Cornell at the top of my wishlist.

2) Are there any top 30 schools that particularly like military officer experience?

3) Is my military experience a liability or an asset when applying? I think it comes down to a strong leadership background versus lack of business experience.

Thanks for the answers, I know others have similar questions!

MBA Admissions Consultant