Panicked and scored 560 -- any suggestions/guidance ??

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,
I have been reading this forum passively for quite some time and it's quite good. I will share my failure story. I gave my test last week(Nov4th) and got Q42, V25. I was scoring between 600 (800score) and 640 (GMATprep) on regular days. I knew I wouldn't score 700 on test day, but I was hoping to have a stronger concentration on test day and beat my best score at the last moment and achieve something between 650 & 680(I realize now that I was being impractical).
I'll brief about my experience and will appreciate suggestions/feedbacks from the group.

My Background
-------------------
I have 10+ years of experience in Engineering, Marketing & Sales(8+ in US top telecom and startup companies). I plan to pursue part time MBA in Berkley. I have done my Undergrad from India (B.E./B.S Computer Science) and part time/Distant learning M.S (Computer Science) from US . I have taken some Sales/Marketing course at Stanford School of Continuing education also.

Challenges
------------
1. I have a huge phobia for GMAT as I had screwed up (1630/2400) my GRE 8 years ago and some how have this mental block that I can't do well in G*** exams. I used to be excellent at studies in my High School (Scored 90.4% aggregate in CBSE board - for those from India will realize that it's a great score). I am very strong in Maths (I had scored 780/800 in GRE) and I believed that I would do well in Quants. However, I was SCARED about Verbal from day one and am still scared till now.
2. My work life was little disturbed for last 3-4 months and I thus decided to put my mind off from there and utilize that time preparting for GMAT instead of brooding about something that I don't have control over.

Preparation
--------------