My reflections on the GMAT (740)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

My reflections on the GMAT (740)

by akdon » Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:28 pm
On Sep 11, 2006 I took the GMAT and scored 740 (98th percentile). I was aiming for 720 so in retrospect, I did 20 points better that my goal which came as a pleasant surprise.

My Background:

I'm a software engineer in my mid twenties and have been working full time for a few years in a fortune 500 company in the US. I have been schooled in India for most of my life and did a masters degree in a public university in the US about 4 years ago. Historically, I have always been strong at analytical and quantitative sections of standardized tests and weak on verbal skills.

Plan of study:

I started studying in mid-June and for a long time didn't follow a good pattern of study. I studied in 3-4 hour blocks 3 times a week (Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays). I solved a single type of problems in every sitting and initially had planned to go through all of the OG 10.

Very quickly in solving these I realized that I was quite bad at sentence completion. I was almost satisfactorily accurate at reading comprehension and critical reasoning. And as expected, I was good at the quantitative sections but often used to get tricked in data sufficiency and made silly mistakes. I have always been calculator-handicapped and have had trouble doing oral calculations since early childhood (I have memorized multiplication tables only till 12 and am quite terrible at those too).