Need Advice

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need Advice

by cjas » Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:17 am
I am curious as to what is the profile of a candidate into a TOP 3/5 university.

I have a bachelors from one of the top 10 tech schools in India (not IIT) (Class Rank 2). Further to it, I hold a masters degree in product development (Class Rank 1) from another country. While I was at school studying the master degree, I tried to exploit the opportunity to study courses in the Business School.

During school I was involved in a research initiative with a professor, and was pitching its business plan actively during university. For some personal reason, I chose to let go of the start-up and got a 9-5 job with a Consumer Electronics MNC. (The startup got funded, but aint doing good financially).

Since joining the job, I have less sexy credentials. Although I studied more management subjects than engineering during school, my job title and work content(50%) is that of an engineer. I have a patent or two (not published), and I am not too excited with this job because of the less than perfect work culture, and also job scope. During work, I dont have much extra curricular work. I am trying to do a online startup, but its taking ages. In my job, I have lead small teams for early stages of projects, which are either terminated or put on hold. Frustrating. The one I am doing now has good chances of being forwarded to the next phase - realization. I see that it will take a lot of time for me to advance in career if I continue with this job. This is among the most important reasons for the MBA.