Profile Evaluation

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:720

Profile Evaluation

by Gagan2001 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:15 am
Dear Sir,

I am an ERP Consultant working with TCS for the past three years. During these three years I also got the opportunityto work for a Project in Saudi Arabia for a prestigious client.My GMAT score is 720 (49 Q,40 V) AWA 4.0.I also have a GPA of 7.3/10 in my undergraduation

Sir, I want to go for an MBA degree as i want to switch my career to the field of Management consulting .

Please suggest, how should i go about researchig the schools and which schools you would recommend for a profile of my kind ?

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:17 members
GMAT Score:750

by Graham » Wed Feb 25, 2009 1:26 am
Dear Gagan2001,

Thanks for your post! It's great to see that you have begun the process of planning your goals and targeting MBA programs. While you've posed a very open-ended question (nearly any MBA progam will give you the basic education you might need to be a management consultant), I've offered a few ideas below.

One way to view the MBA is as "a means to an end" - in your case, you might view it as the key to taking you from the technical arena of ERP consulting to more high-level/strategic area of management consulting. Doing this might lead to several questions:

1) Which MBA programs are strongest in areas like general management, strategy, cost accounting, operations, case-based learning, etc?

2) Which management consulting firms will you be targeting? Where do these firms source their MBA hires?

3) Where do you want to work in the short and long-term? India? The US? Europe? This could potentially help you further narrow the field (since most schools are best suited to place candidates in their region and studies have shown that a high percentage of graduates end up within 5 hours travel of their MBA program's campus).