720!!!! 49Q, 41V. I am very happy

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

720!!!! 49Q, 41V. I am very happy

by gaggleofgirls » Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:13 pm
I took the test this morning (Feb 10).

I have to say that the challenging questions in the Math section of this board were great prep for the test and I know my Quant score is significantly higher than it would have been without this board.

And a nod to 'older' candidates. It has been 22 years since I graduated with my BA and about that long since i have used most of the algebra and geometry that are on the test. You CAN relearn it and you CAN do well.

My process:

I purchased the PDF books from GMAT Hacks (www.gmathacks.com) and these were great, especially for re-learning the math. The math book goes subject by subject through math teaching it. I did the books and all the questions in them and then I joined this board.

I took three full practice tests (640, 680, 730), simulating the test conditions as much as possible (turned off cell and email and kept away all distractions, took the two 10 min breaks where I just had water and bathroom, put away all my notes and books and anything else that might be helpful and just did the test). This type of practice was great for test day feeling familiar.

Then, what I did between practice tests was to go over every question on the practice test and make sure I knew how to do it. I started with the ones I missed, but I went back and did all the ones I got right also, just to cement that I really owned that type of question. Where I couldn't do or re-do the question well and correctly, then I re-studied that area with the GMAT Hacks books, friends and this board.