Just got beat by the GMAT!!!!!!!!! ugh 640

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Just got beat by the GMAT!!!!!!!!! ugh 640

by spwildmba » Tue May 29, 2007 10:45 am
Just took my first GMAT. Was scoring consistently in mid to high 90% for verbal and mid 70% for quant PowerPrep, GMATPrep, etc.

Got Q32 50% and V43 93% for 640 80% overall.

I have been in the 90% plus on Verbal since my very first test so focused nearly entirely on Quant during prep.

Got in the test and just FROZE on quant..could not set up anything!

I studied hard in Feb and March but really coasted in April and early May due to work going crazy. Crammed for 2 weeks pretest..so really about 2 1/2 months total prep but separated.

I now have to take another month off basically due to moving, etc. have a 3 year old daughter, work, etc.

My question..how to drill down on what I need to prep for quant...want a 700 but I really blew on the real test at math. When I prepped consistent...Feb and April..got feel for when 2 minutes was coming, when to jump ship and take educated guess, how to set up quickly, etc...I normally don't get test jitters but Quant this time freaked me...should I time everything I do? Write down all my solutions and compare to answers to see what I am doing wrong? How many hours per week? (probably put in 10 per week in Mar and April and then 20 per week last 2 weeks before test)

Anyone here raised their quant from 50% to 80% or above? I am targeting a top tier school and heard you need 80% plus on Quant.

Thanks!!!

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by Sadowski » Tue May 29, 2007 1:02 pm
Never fear...a higher quant score is definitely within reach. I've found the following methods, outlined in this website and others, to be the most valuable when practicing quant problems.