Oil and Gas B - School

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Oil and Gas B - School

by Slappy Sanchez » Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:58 pm
I have worked in finance and accounting for the past two years but upon working a project for an oil and gas company being investigated by the government I realized that I really want to get into the oil and gas business.

I have a BA from a small local school, even with work experience my GPA is brought up, and my GPA was anything but amazing. I believe that my best option on getting into this industry would be by going back to school and getting an MBA, but which one? I know I want to work in finance, and possibly as a trader.

Having a 2.6 GPA and a 690 GMAT what schools should I be looking into? I am new to B - School research, but I do know that not all schools are created equal, and as such if I want to get into oil and gas going to a school geared more towards that industry is key. Where should I look? How should I research these schools?

If anyone is currently in this field, and could lend me his or her wisdom that would be great.

Thanks.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:13 members

by manyaabroadtpr » Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:34 pm
Hi Slappy Sanchez

You can look at areas like Texas, Michigan, Indiana etc which have scope for such a field.

Some schools you can look at are:

1. Rice University
2. Texas A and M
3. Michigan State University
4. Purdue University
5. Pennsylvania State University

Hope this helps.

Thanks

Manya Abroad Team

Followed by:8 members

by interviewbay22 » Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:59 am
We have recently helped few people with background in Schlumberger and Shell to get into top business schools.