Not sure abt my GPA. Please help. (Addtional info added)

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:700
Hi there,

I'm a corporate lawyer based in India. I did law from one of the top three law school in the country (Campus Law Centre, University of Delhi) where less than 4% of the applicants make in. Prior to that I've done Graduation in English from the same university.

I'm not sure how my undergrad scores will be interpreted by HBS if I were to apply there. In India, scores are calculated out of 100, and come in percentages.

In Bachelor of Arts degree I received 52% where the highest was in the low 60s.

In law I got 50.56% where the highest was again in the low 60s.

Please advise if this score is acceptable to HBS.

I had been associated with 2 leading newspapers of India one each during Bachelor of Arts and during law school and had to balance my academics and my work. Is there any chance that HBS would look at my undergrad as more than just a sum of my scores?

Any advise would be very useful to me.

Last edited by Turnpike on Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:17 members
GMAT Score:750

by Graham » Fri Apr 17, 2009 12:01 am
Dear Turnpike,

Thanks for your post!

Here are my thoughts on your situation:

1) On the surface a 52% in ugrad and a 50.56% in law school do not look great - especially when applying to a school like HBS where the average admitted student tends to come in with something closer to a 90%. Of course, HBS (and all the top b-schools) know that the grading system in India is very different, and that just breaking into the 70% range can be a sign of stellar performance, so I wouldn't rule yourself out of the game.