NEVER LIKED MATHS

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

NEVER LIKED MATHS

by Beyzz » Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:09 am
Hi all,

I am 22 years old and I just graduated from business administration. I can't decide whether I should start a master study or start working immediately. I kind of have a job already in a pharmaceutical comnpany in the supply chain department. The funny thing about my background is that I have always hated maths, I always avoided topics or conversations relating numbers. I do not even know how I managed to pass my finance and statistics courses or how I graduated or ended up working in a deparment where I constantly work with numbers and formulas. I even followed my internship in one of world's top financial consulting firms. In real life its different, I really feel like I am a fraud!

I realize that I have to catch up on my math skills ASAP! Seeing my friends ending up doing their masters in good universities inspires me everyday to take the GMAT test. If I do, I want to follow my masters in Erasmus University Rotterdam, they require a GMAT score of minimum 600. Honestly, I really don't think I can evem make it to 400! People are talking about scores of 700 and asking whether they should retake it or not :/

I don't know what to do, where to start and how long it will take me to prepare myself for it. I know for sure that 2-3 months is not enough!

Please help me out!

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Wed Jul 09, 2014 5:48 am
To improve your quantitative score, I believe that you should compartmentalize your learning and take the time to master each topic (e.g., percents, ratios, exponents, statistics, etc.). This means that, for each topic, you should:
1) Learn the underlying concepts (rules, attributes, notation, etc.)
2) Learn GMAT-specific strategies related to that topic
3) Practice dozens of questions all related to that one topic.