Need Prep Advice based on 1st GMAT Prep Results

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:730
Hi All,

I gave the first GMAT Prep test today. I am glad that I was able to touch the 700 mark (700,49Q,36V,7IR) in the very 1st test after a disastrous 1st MGMAT(620,45Q,31V). However, there is still a lot to be done . I am planning to give the GMAT some time during the last week of July.I feel it is the right time to shift from a "textbook" to a "smart" studying approach, in order to maximize my score - I am targeting a score of 740+.

In order to develop the so called "smart" study approach I need help from you experts out there.
Being an analyst, I decided to analyze my test results and prepared the attached workbook for the same.
Below are some section-wise insights that I could gather from my analysis:

Quant
I did not find the content of the test too difficult, though the questions were slightly harder compared to the OG. However, there are 2 problems that I encountered during the section:

a) Inertia factor - It took me 5-6 questions to get into the rhythm of solving problems. As a result, not only did I get 3 problems wrong right in the beginning,but also ended up wasting a lot of time on them.
b) Time Management - I was extremely focused on getting each and every question correct in the beginning. As a result, I lost track of time and was left with under 15 mins for the last 12 questions- I got most of them wrong.The same happened on the MGMAT.In the end, I had to randomly guess on the last 5 questions

Verbal

The questions were very similar to the OG, unlike the MGMAT . No serious time management issues in this section.I rocked CR but was a tad below par on the RC and SC questions. Again the inertia factor (transitioning from quant to verbal) got the better of me.Got 5 out of the 1st 10 questions wrong, which is probably the reason for the <40 score.