Need Help-Took Gmat Twice. Stuck at 550

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need Help-Took Gmat Twice. Stuck at 550

by gmat4abhi » Tue Aug 12, 2014 1:21 am
Hi,

I have been studying for the past 5 months after my gmat attempt last year.

In my first attempt i scored 530 and in second attempt i scored 550. However I always scored between 650 and 700 in gmat prep as well as veritas prep exams. My quant scores ranged between 42 and 48 and verbal between 30 and 35 on practise exams. On my final GMAT prep practise exam i scored 650; i took the test a day before final GMAT.

But in the GMAT exam my verbal score remained consistent at 23 and quant remained consistent at 42,in both the attempts, but my score improved from 530 to 550.

Kindly please assist how to proceed further to improve my scores.I would like to know how to frame my strategy to know to correct my understanding for verbal and quant.

Thanks
Abhishek

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Tue Aug 12, 2014 12:08 pm
Hi Abhishek,

These types of score drops usually point to an inconsistency in your studying (you studied a certain way that did not match the specifics of Test Day).

I'd like to know more about what you've been doing over the last 5 months:

1) What resources have you been using to study (Courses, Books, etc.)?
2) What were your practice CAT scores for each CAT (include your Quant and Verbal Scaled Scores)? List them out with the date that you took each.
3) Did you take the ENTIRE CAT every time (including Essay and IR) or did you ever skip sections?
4) Did you ever take any of these CATs more than once?
5) What time of day did you take your CATs? What time of day did you take your GMAT?

6) How did you sleep the night before your GMAT?