Need Advice

This forum is dedicated to our GMAT Avengers study group. Connect with fellow test takers and stay up-to-date with the latest Avengers' news. Experts are free to contribute in answering questions.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need Advice

by amirzoyan » Sat Dec 12, 2015 6:10 am
Hi,

So as many on this forum I had high aspirations of acquiring a high GMAT score. I started studying in June and probably put in more then 150 hours of studying. The first two months I spent working on concepts and understanding strategy. From August though December I spent working on problems. I predominantly used three sources which included the Official Guide, Magoosh, and Target Test Prep. Collectively, I went through over 1500 problems, and by the end of it was getting 70-90% of questions right (I only practiced medium and hard question) for both quant and verbal. I do admit, I didn't do as many CATs as I should have. Before starting my studies, I installed the GMATPrep Software and took a practice test. I ended up scoring a 610. That was somewhat promising since at that point I haven't put any effort and did not get an "awful" score. Before taking the actual exam in December, I took two more CATs. Scored 700 on one and 680 on the second. I felt I was ready to achieve my goal. Took the test, and to my surprise got an abysmal 560...that was fairly devastating after months of work and never scoring below 600. I ended up canceling the score and rescheduling the test in 3 weeks (given I am applying for round 2 and need an unofficial score before I submit my application). Looking at the analysis of the test, I did poorly on the verbal section, specifically SC but also should have done better on quant. I kind of froze and had a mental block a few times throughout the test.