Military Profile Evaluation Request

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello,

I am a Marine Officer with 10 years experience and am interested in transitioning from the service to another career. I am interested in applying to the business schools this fall for entrance to Class of 2019 cohort. Below are my basic stats; I appreciate any feedback.

Interested schools:

- HBS
- GSB
- Tuck
- Yale SOM
- Darden

In the short term, I am interested in pursuing leadership opportunities in general management, with a particular focus on non-profit leadership, social impact, and/or general management.strategy consulting. Long term goal is to work at the intersection of public-private space, where I can leverage the strengths of both. I know this is quite general and broad; I am still reflecting on where I want to go.

I prefer smaller school sizes and the case method

I have 100% post 9/11 GI bill.

Basic info:

- US citizen, indian ethnicity
- 31 year old male

Education:

- B.S in Business Management from Drexel University, 3.25 GPA
- Currently pursuing a Masters Degree in International Relations at the University of Cambridge (expected to graduate summer 2017)

GMAT:

- 700 (44Q, 42V, 7IR, 6 writing)

Work Experience:

- 10 years as a Marine Officer
- combat tours in Iraq and Afghanistan
- humanitarian service experience in Japan (nuclear and tsunami crises of 2011)
- 6 years international experience (worked in Japan and am currently working in the as an Exchange Officer for the Ministry of Defence, UK)
- served as a Congressional Fellow/Legislative Assistant for a US Congressman
- Currently serve as an exchange officer and lead military and civilian personnel from all four services and three nations

Honors/Awards/

- Honor graduate from undergraduate NROTC program
- Honor graduate from advanced military school (out of 32 officers)