No votes
No votes
No votes

Total votes: 0

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

MGMAT Mock Exam Essay 4

by melaos » Thu Jan 30, 2014 2:53 am
Hi,

This is my first attempt in writing the essay.

Can anyone kindly provide feedbacks?

Thank you so much for your help!!

Question:

Read the statement(s) and the instructions that follow, and then make any notes that will help you plan your response. Begin typing your response in the box at the bottom of the screen.
The following appeared in the personal finance section of a popular magazine:

"The average price of an acre of land in the United States is now 50 times what it was in 1970, and nearly 200 times what it was in 1920. The nation's population is projected to keep increasing, even as the amount of land remains constant. Therefore, people who are approaching retirement should invest heavily in real estate in order to ensure their financial security."

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion. You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument, what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

answer:
The argument that heavily investing in real estate can provide financial security for people who are approaching their retirement omits a few key concerns that must first be understood before any sound decision can be made. The only link that was given is that land is becoming more scarce in the United states as the main reason is not a very supportive reason.