• Economist Test Prep
    Free Trial & Practice Exam
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Economist Test Prep
  • PrepScholar GMAT
    5 Day FREE Trial
    Study Smarter, Not Harder

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    PrepScholar GMAT
  • Veritas Prep
    Free Veritas GMAT Class
    Experience Lesson 1 Live Free

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Veritas Prep
  • Kaplan Test Prep
    Free Practice Test & Review
    How would you score if you took the GMAT

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Kaplan Test Prep
  • Magoosh
    Magoosh
    Study with Magoosh GMAT prep

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Magoosh
  • Target Test Prep
    5-Day Free Trial
    5-day free, full-access trial TTP Quant

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Target Test Prep
  • e-gmat Exclusive Offer
    Get 300+ Practice Questions
    25 Video lessons and 6 Webinars for FREE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    e-gmat Exclusive Offer
  • EMPOWERgmat Slider
    1 Hour Free
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    EMPOWERgmat Slider
  • Varsity Tutors
    Award-winning private GMAT tutoring
    Register now and save up to $200

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Varsity Tutors

Meaningful Princeton Review Cd-Rom Test Result?

This topic has 2 expert replies and 2 member replies
the answer 4 Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
26 Feb 2007
Posted:
4 messages

Meaningful Princeton Review Cd-Rom Test Result?

Post Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:01 pm
Elapsed Time: 00:00
  • Lap #[LAPCOUNT] ([LAPTIME])
    Hi, I have a question about a result on the Princeton Review cd-rom tests. I took test #1, but only completed the verbal section since that is what I am focusing on (there is an option to skip the math section). After I completed the test I received the following read out as my score V:39 M:0 T:360. Does this mean if i were to perform equally well on the math section (360) that I would score a 720 overall? I think it does, but I want to confirm since I answered than 10 questions incorrectly -- they were later in the section. If this result is half way to 720, then the hard work is paying off. If not, then i'm going to beat my head in with all of these books I purchased... I'm concerned only because 75% is not a great success rate...

    I then have 3 follow up questions:
    1) Does the Kaplan cd-rom work the same way?
    2) Can anyone confirm whether the Princeton Review and Kaplan cd-roms are computer adaptive?
    3) When you do a practice verbal set, how many on average are you getting right in the set? My range is 70% and 80%, with an 85% occasionally. I alluded to this before -- I would think scoring closer to 85%-90% is necessary for you a 700+ score...

    I know that i asked a lot, but i'm struggling to find out where my verbal abilities actually stand at this point.

    Appreciate the insight. Good luck to all.

    _________________
    The Answer 4

    Need free GMAT or MBA advice from an expert? Register for Beat The GMAT now and post your question in these forums!

    GMAT/MBA Expert

    Stacey Koprince GMAT Instructor
    Joined
    27 Dec 2006
    Posted:
    2228 messages
    Followed by:
    678 members
    Thanked:
    639 times
    GMAT Score:
    780
    Post Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:12 pm
    Hi, a couple of things in order of importance:

    Do not concentrate on percentage correct; this test is NOT scored the way tests in school are scored. The number you get right (or wrong) doesn't matter nearly as much as the difficulty level of the questions you get right and wrong.

    Most people will get roughly half of the questions right and roughly half of the questions wrong. (This is approximate - it might be 45% or 56% or whatever.)

    If you are below about a 300 or above about a 700, then the percentage correct will start to skew lower or higher, but you're still getting a large number of questions wrong. Even someone scoring in the 99th percentile is getting maybe 3-8 questions wrong in each section (depending on the exact score).

    Second, scoring a "360" when taking half the test unfortunately cannot be extrapolated to the whole test. First, verbal is weighted more heavily than math on the test - verbal is essentially worth more. (How much more, though, depends on your particular raw scores.) Second, no one is exactly the same in math and verbal - everyone has a stronger and a weaker area. Third, fatigue is an issue on this (long) test. You will perform better on a verbal section taken in isolation than you will on a verbal section taken as part of a 4-hour long test.

    Whenever you take practice tests in order to gauge your overall progress, take the ENTIRE thing (including essays) - I know it's long Smile but if you don't, you don't really have a true gauge of your performance.

    _________________
    Please note: I do not use the Private Messaging system! I will not see any PMs that you send to me!!

    Stacey Koprince
    GMAT Instructor
    Director of Online Community
    Manhattan GMAT

    Contributor to Beat The GMAT!

    Learn more about me

    Free Manhattan Prep online events - The first class of every online Manhattan Prep course is free. Classes start every week.
    fsar45 Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    25 Feb 2007
    Posted:
    80 messages
    Post Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:43 pm
    Stacey is right on. You need to practice the entire test. It will be important for your confidence and your stamina.

    75% is actually quite good. Top schools want 80% and above for each section, but 75% on your first take is a great start.

    The Princeton Review tests are adaptive. I do not believe Kaplan's tests are. The PR tests generally are pretty reliable at predicting your score, but you do need to do the whole thing. Smile

    GMAT/MBA Expert

    Stacey Koprince GMAT Instructor
    Joined
    27 Dec 2006
    Posted:
    2228 messages
    Followed by:
    678 members
    Thanked:
    639 times
    GMAT Score:
    780
    Post Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:52 pm
    I think the 75% the original poster referred to was a percent correct rate. The schools don't get that info - they get the percentile ranking (and, yes, most of the very top schools do want to see 80%+ percentile for each of the subsections, math and verbal).

    _________________
    Please note: I do not use the Private Messaging system! I will not see any PMs that you send to me!!

    Stacey Koprince
    GMAT Instructor
    Director of Online Community
    Manhattan GMAT

    Contributor to Beat The GMAT!

    Learn more about me

    Free Manhattan Prep online events - The first class of every online Manhattan Prep course is free. Classes start every week.
    fsar45 Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    25 Feb 2007
    Posted:
    80 messages
    Post Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:52 am
    Oops, I didn't read it that closely. Guess I shouldn't post that late at night!!

    It's still a good start, though.

    Best Conversation Starters

    1 Vincen 152 topics
    2 lheiannie07 61 topics
    3 Roland2rule 49 topics
    4 ardz24 40 topics
    5 LUANDATO 32 topics
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Members...

    Most Active Experts

    1 image description Brent@GMATPrepNow

    GMAT Prep Now Teacher

    141 posts
    2 image description EconomistGMATTutor

    The Economist GMAT Tutor

    107 posts
    3 image description GMATGuruNY

    The Princeton Review Teacher

    106 posts
    4 image description Rich.C@EMPOWERgma...

    EMPOWERgmat

    104 posts
    5 image description Matt@VeritasPrep

    Veritas Prep

    76 posts
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Experts