Low GMAT Score, Should I consider GRE instead?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi Everyone,

I just gave GMAT a week ago with 1 month preparation and scored a disappointing 500 (Q38 V20) but AWA 6.0 which sadly doesn't mean much. I started my preparation by taking a GMATPrep test to see where I stand. I scored a 480 (Q37 V20) and realized a month might not just be enough but since my work is based on a drilling rig, I work for 3 weeks off and get 3 weeks off. I took an additional week off (which wasn't easy) for the preparation and studied for 5-6 hours daily.

I focused on Quant for the first 3 weeks and on my second GMATPrep test I improved from Q37 to Q45. However, the Verbal score was still a sad story since I had not started studying for it. I studied for the verbal in the last week and felt that I was improving as I was getting a decent amount of questions on the OG right. However, I took my 3rd CAT 2 days before the test and scored 530 with Verbal still at 20.

Since my day is pretty much occupied at Rig site, I can manage to study during my off days only. I personally think I can improve my score with the E-GMAT verbal module but in all fairness, but achieving my target score of at least 600 would require a lot of doing.

I am now inclined towards giving the GRE instead. I gave one GRE Powerprep test and scored 308 on the untimed test (Q165, V143) although the math seem way to easy, I feel that it would a bit tougher on the actual test. Also, the GRE requires lesser practice as compared to the GMAT and I somehow feel more at home with the GRE. I am still torn between either focusing on the GRE or giving the GMAT a second chance.

I am back at rig site and I need some advice on which test to go for. I want to plan my strategy accordingly so that I can start the the preparation as soon as I leave for off days (25 days for preperation).

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800