Is my work experience enough?

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Is my work experience enough?

by beginning.grit » Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:52 pm
Hello! I'm thinking about going for an MBA in the US in Fall 2015. I live in Bangladesh, and I'm working at an international development organization. I graduated last year, and I've worked for a consumer goods company for 8 months prior to joining my current organization. If I apply for an MBA Program in Fall 2015, then I'll have around 1 year 7 months of full-time work experience (barring internship) by the time I write the essays for the application. Do you think that this brief work experience (coupled with the job switch from consumer goods to development) is enough to get me admitted? I'm aiming for the Top 10 schools, which typically look for candidates with 3-4 years of experience. Can I still get admitted by:

- Showing I've done meaningful work with strong impact in my brief career?
- Making up for the shortfall in work experience through a good GMAT score? (Given my case, what is the minimum GMAT score I should strive for?)

Plus, is there any other way (like extracurricular activities) to support my application?

I really want to go in Fall 2015 and don't want to wait after that...so, I'm hoping if someone can offer me their valuable suggestions. :)

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:12 members
GMAT Score:770

by GeneralEducation » Sun Mar 30, 2014 3:34 am
Hi,