Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Is 680 enough?

by puneetjain18 » Mon May 04, 2015 10:46 am
Hi,

I recently wrote the GMAT and scored a 680(Q48, V35). My background is as below

34/M/Indian

10 years work ex. Past 6 yrs with Accenture Consulting. One of the top performers.

Mechanical Engineer and have an MBA from tier 2 college in India.

MBA%- 62
BE%-65

Social contributions: have been active within Accenture in social initiatives

International experience- Worked around 1year in Australia and 6 months in Thailand

Team handling: Managed 6 resources in Australia. Currently handling 3 consultants.

I am looking for 1yr MBA from Insead, IESE, HEC etc. Can you suggest my chances?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Legendary Member
Followed by:52 members

by CriticalSquareMBA » Mon May 04, 2015 1:12 pm
Thanks for sharing your background. A couple things that you will need to consider is your common background and your age. You're in an overrepresented pool when it comes to ethnicity and education. One point of clarification regarding your work experience - was your consulting work technology focused or strategic in nature? Your GMAT is a bit low for INSEAD but in the range for IESE and HEC, however your age is the component that is working against you.

Based on the information you provided, your involvement looks a bit light given the only activities are related to your employer - any type of pro-bono consulting or activities outside of Accenture? At this stage of your career, leadership is expected. It's great that you are leading small teams, but this isn't really a point of separation for you, unfortunately.