International Student | First GMAT 490 | I need Help

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello everybody,

I wanted to thank everyone for creating this website. It is really helpful. I wish I would have seen it earlier. I am an international student applying for a state school here in Florida. I did my undergrads here and the GMAT admissions are not hard at all. I studied for around 2 months for my GMAT. I work full time and English is my third language. I have a dual degree in Finance and Marketing, GPA 3.8

I will be honest and say that I suck at math. I always did. I just took my GMAT today and I feel like the dumbest person ever. Getting over the disappointment will take me definitely couple days. I got a 33 in Math and 23 in Verbal. My english is not stellar but I never had any troubles throughout college. I have one more try in June and if I can't score a decent score I will have to leave the country. I am just looking for any advices or tips?

I want to find tutoring classes, websites or material that could help me. I used Kaplan, Princetown, and GMATPrep for the last couple days before the exam. My issues are Math and mainly sentence correction. I had a 490 and 530 and my Gmat Prep and 550 and 550 on my Kaplan exams. I need a high 500 to get into my program. I know it is not too good of a score but I just really need some help with allocating the right resources.

Can anyone please help? I would greatly appreciate it.

Lukas

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Tue May 20, 2014 5:13 pm
Hi lukas1989,

Since you're dealing with a short timeline, you'll need to be specific with the details:

1) What is the latest that you can retake the GMAT?