INSEAD GMAT question : 650 overall but lower quant score

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Dears,

I have just taken the GMAT
I scored a 650, but my score is very unbalanced: 49% in quant, 89% verbal, AWA 92% and IR 81%.

INSEAD favor balanced scores (70/75% for each) but people tell me not to worry: my good grades (masters in international business, 3.25-4.0 GPA with honors), and my good profile should amply compensate. I have been working for 6 years, the last 3.5 years for a global bluechip company with a repsonsibility for EMEA. All in all I have lived and worked in Europe (France, Germany, U.K.) Asia Pacific (Thailand, Japan, China). I currently live in Korea. I speak 4 languages fluently and have basic proficiency in 3 others. On top of that I hold a bachelor of science and a bachelor of arts.

I really struggle with quantative and have spent a considerable time on it already. Do you believe my international profile and experience can offset the disparity in my scores?

Thank you in advance.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:5 members

by mcbMcK » Fri Nov 14, 2014 9:29 am
Dear Kdegraav,

A few thoughts on your questions and profile:
  1. You havent mentioned the name of your school you did your masters from or your nationality. In general, 3.25 is not really stellar; unless that's the case on a relative basis in the school you were a part of. So make sure you calibrate yourself correctly
  2. The GMAT balance is something that most schools prefer, not just INSEAD. That is a fairly imbalanced score and given that the school has a fairly high average, likely to be a handicap. If you havent tried it yet, will be good to seek professional help on the GMAT and take another shot at it