Improve score by 100 with limited time over 3 months

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi everyone,

I'm glad I found this website! I hope to get some valuable information from you!

I took the GMAT last November with a preperation time of 21 days while I studied 8h/day. The GMAT score I achieved was 500 with the following subscores:
Verbal: 24
Quant: 35

I prepared for my first GMAT with the Kaplan GMAT Premier 2014 book as well as the GMAT Official Books for the Verbal and Quant part.
The test scores I got within the GMAT Prep Software were 500 and 530.
I also took 5 Kaplan CATs receiving scores on a range from 540 to 630. In total I took 7 practice tests, although looking backwards I feel the Kaplan once weren't accurate! Overall I did not feel well prepared last time, so I want to improve now, by starting with a solid plan!

My goal is to get a score of 600 for my Master application by redoing the GMAT. So I need to improve by 100 points!

My time schedule looks like this:

I'll take the exam on the 23.04.15!

For the next two months I can study 5 days about 1h-2h on the go and one day about 8 hours per week.

In April, the month of the test date, I have 25 full days to prepare!

Now my questions:

1. How can I best prepare on the go, during the 2 months I don't have that much time? I already have the GMAT-Mobile-App. I'm thinking of Audio books and flashcards! Does anyone have suggestions here?

2. What would be the best way to prepare during the 25 full days right before the exam?

3. Do you think my goal of a score of 600 is realistic with the mentioned time resources?

Thanks a lot in advance! I'm looking forward to your ideas & help.

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:03 am
Given the amount of time you have and the amount of studying you plan to do, a 100 point score increase is realistic.

Of course, you need to prepare the right way.