I just Beat The GMAT with 710

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

I just Beat The GMAT with 710

by siddhu161 » Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:04 pm
Hello all!

I finally attempted GMAT yesterday - 11th Feb 14 - and scored 710 (Q49, V36, and IR6).

Surprisingly, I never crossed 700 in any of my practice tests.

I am happy with this score and just want to describe my preparation and exam day experience in case it helps some of you.

I am a working professional so generally get 2 hrs a day and 7 hrs per weekend for preparation. I joined classes just for getting back into study mode after 2.5 years of work exp. But then had to take break due to illness and resumed my studies in November end of 2013.

I did not take any date as I decided to take it immediately once I feel I am at least crossing 650-660.
Resources for my study: OG 13, Manhattan SC guide and Kaplan GMAT verbal workbook.
Tests: GMAT prep software (2 tests free), GMATPrep exam pack 1(2 more tests), Manhattan 6 tests (Came free with SC guide), 800Score (5 tests free from class I joined)
As my quant is between ok-good, Scores in all practice tests ranged from 45(least and only 3 times) to 49.

So I concentrated on verbal more. Though OG is really nice for all types of questions, in my opinion, if you are not used to native English, you need more resources. In my case, I found that SC rules are much confusing if you go only with OG and there are few (rare) examples in OG which are having contradicting explanations.

So I bought Manhattan SC guide. It's great book for self-preparation.
You can plan for 1 or 2 chapters a day and can go through all of them in 10 days.