HEC Montreal vs. John Molson School of Business (JMSB)

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi all :)

I'm graduating from Cegep and applying to university this year, and my first choice is McGill's Desautels. That being said, I am not 100% sure of being admitted, so it comes down to HEC vs. JMSB. I will be applying to all three, but just wanted some guidance from people who may have been in the same position as I currently am, as to which school to go for if Desautels doesn't work out. I know this is more of a forum for MBA schools, but I'd love to hear from people who have done it, and could perhaps give me a different and more long-term perspective to people currently attending, but then again, any words of advice is welcomed!

A little bit about me: I am a honour roll student at Dawson College with an average, so far, of over 90 in most of my classes. I am interested, after my studies, in working in consulting or strategic management, working in areas of sustainability and development preferably internationally (preference in Europe, more precisely, the UK). I will most likely do an MBA after my BComm, but I will worry about that later. I am perfectly bilingual, so language would not be an issue for HEC. Also, aside from the school quality & recognition, I am also looking for a school with a great network, great networking opportunities with other students, potential employers and internship opportunities, and also a good overall experience. Anyways, I just want your (as much as possible) unbiased opinion on both HEC and JMSB along with any real-life stories you may have seen or experienced yourself in terms of these schools. If any of you coud help me, that'd be really appreciated.