GMAT Strategy: Scheduling 2 exams back to back?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi! I have struggled with the GMAT for awhile now. The first 2 times I did not study, so my scores of 420 and 460 were no surprise. I studied hard for the 3rd one (although I am in school so this was probably not wise, studying for 3 hard classes on top of the GMAT), even enrolled in MGMAT 8 week course, and was scoring in the low 600s on the MGMAT practice tests. Took the 3rd GMAT and somehow got a 440. Anyway, I am giving it one more go around this summer. I will be doing nothing except working and studying for the GMAT. Anyway, I have heard from one of the MGMAT professors that for someone with extreme test anxiety (ME! lol), sometimes enrolling in 2 GMAT tests a month apart may help since it doesn't feel like everything is riding on that one test; i've heard it will take some of the pressure off. Has anyone had any success with this? I was just wanting some input before I drop another $250 on a test. Thanks!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:08 pm
Hi Kristinaw14,

Academically, while there is nothing inherently 'wrong' with the idea of scheduling 2 GMAT appointments, I think there could be some problems with the overall diagnosis (that anxiety is the big problem) and I don't think that having an Official 2nd Test Date will necessarily change anything for you (since you already know that you can schedule another Test as needed, WHY would you have to go through the trouble - and expense - of doing it now?).

There are so many aspects to your situation that you have not defined that I have a lot of questions about the work that you've done so far. If you can answer these questions (and likely a few more later on), then I'll be happy to advise:

1) Why did you take those two initial GMATs with so little prep?