GMAT prep strategy - unsure how to improve further

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi all,

I've been studying for the GMAT for a few months now. I've purchased a few books (Kaplan GMAT 2014, Kaplan Math Workbook, Kaplan Math Foundations, Manhatten GMAT Advanced Quant, OG 2015) and worked through all the content in these books. As I'm based in Germany and have not been able to find any courses here, I've also been taking some 1-on-1 tutoring with an instructor in the US to supplement my own studies.

I've taken approx. 10 practice exams to date and have scored in the 640-690 range, but have developed the bad habit of using the 'pause' feature on these exams when I get stumped by a question - which still happens quite a lot. I'm currently taking the practice exams offered by Manhatten GMAT and am finding the problems really tricky, particularly Quant. I know I need to improve on my speed overall and stop relying on the pause feature, but I'm not sure how.

My exam date is coming up in two months and I'm aiming for a 700+ score.

Do you have any recommendations on what I can do to build up my confidence and increase speed at this point? Continue taking practice exams and take educated guesses where necessary? Or take a step back and start timing myself on questions outside the CAT setting until I feel more certain?

Any and all suggestions would be much appreciated!

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:22 am
To begin, I think you need to begin taking full-length practice tests WITHOUT pressing the pause button.
This is the only way to:
1) get a solid idea of your current skills
2) identify your strengths and weaknesses