GMAT after graduation and bagging jobs based thereon

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I am a 22 yo Chartered Accountant from India (qualified this July). I plan to take a 6 month break to take the GMAT (and do some volunteer work and pursue other interests). I plan to apply to B-schools in 3-4 years' time.

I have a couple of queries-

1. Besides the validity of the GMAT score, are there any other Cons of taking the GMAT right after graduation?
2. If I secure a 700+ score thereon, is it advisable to put it on my Resume? With respect to India, can it leverage my chances of getting an Analyst position at an MBB/IB? Further, to what extent will it be a double-edged sword (since my intention to quit in 3-4 years' time would be amply clear to my interviewer)?

Cheers,
Pranav

GMAT/MBA Expert

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:11 members

by Donna@Stratus » Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:33 am
Pranav94 wrote:I am a 22 yo Chartered Accountant from India (qualified this July). I plan to take a 6 month break to take the GMAT (and do some volunteer work and pursue other interests). I plan to apply to B-schools in 3-4 years' time.

I have a couple of queries-

1. Besides the validity of the GMAT score, are there any other Cons of taking the GMAT right after graduation?
2. If I secure a 700+ score thereon, is it advisable to put it on my Resume? With respect to India, can it leverage my chances of getting an Analyst position at an MBB/IB? Further, to what extent will it be a double-edged sword (since my intention to quit in 3-4 years' time would be amply clear to my interviewer)?

Cheers,
Pranav