Getting into a top MBA program after law school

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
So, I graduated from a top 6 law school (Columbia/Chicago/NYU) last year and have been working in a law firm since last September. FYI I graduated right around median and am currently working at one of the top law firms in a rural state (think NE, IA, MT, SD, etc...). Problem is... I enjoy the business/economic side of my work so much more than the legal side. Also, I took several courses at a top business school (while in law school) and performed very well and also really enjoyed the material. Therefore, I'm now thinking about applying to MBA programs.

I'm on this forum because I have a couple questions.... First, with my law firm experience (albeit in a rural state), an undergraduate GPA of 3.86 (top 5%), and a GMAT of 750 (just scored 720 on my first practice test), will I be competitive for a top 5 program? Second, how will programs view my law degree.... having performed average at a top school?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks advance for any replies!!!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Legendary Member
Followed by:52 members

by CriticalSquareMBA » Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:44 am
Hi there,

Well, I believe your username says it all, eh? This is an interesting position you find yourself in and I'm going to give you my opinion. I'm sure there will be other who post after me either in agreement or disagreement. However, there are a couple of key questions that would be great if you would answer.

1) What was your undergrad degree in and where did you go?
2) What did you do between undergrad and law school? Or did you go straight into law school?
3) What kind of law?
4) How old are you?