General Advice After First Practice Test (Updated)

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
I took my first GMAT practice test yesterday (one of the official ones in the GMAT Prep software), and scored a 680 (42Q, 41V, 8IR). I was pleasantly surprised by the result, because my head was absolutely spinning throughout the quant section, and felt like it was a solid effort for a first attempt.

By way of background, I started brushing up on general GMAT skills -- arithmetic, basic algebra, grammar, etc. -- about six or eight months ago, and have been studying more advanced topics over the past three or four months. I work full time as an attorney (40+ hours per week), so study time has routinely been a scarce commodity, so I've tried to stretch my study schedule out over a longer period of time. Nevertheless, I've gone through all of the Manhattan GMAT books, and watched all of the Magoosh videos, but I haven't done very many practice problems to date and my studies have focused more on learning/comprehending the raw material.

On the verbal section yesterday, I did extremely well yesterday on CR and RC, and a bit less well on SC, although I was still pretty strong in that respect.The quant section was, however, a head-spinner. I feel generally comfortable with the quant overall material -- though I do need to improve on number properties, which I'm working on -- but the actual questions presented just seemed so vastly different than the raw, isolated material I've been reviewing the past few months. Nothing was at all straightforward, and it seemed at times like every question was convoluted layer upon convoluted layer. I think (or hope, I should say) a lot of that will go away in time after I do more practice problems (the old notion that math is not a spectator sport and whatnot), but either way I know I've got a lot of work ahead on quant, and am ready to attack it. I just want to get some general feedback about the best way to move forward.