FSU 3.3 GPA / 710 GMAT / 4 years in commercial banking

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I will have been working in Commercial Banking for 4 years and want to apply to top programs with the goal of breaking into Investment Banking.
Will I be competitive for M7 Programs?

Also, I attended my undergrad for 5 years as I changed my major from Engineering to Finance and my GPA took a roller coaster ride. I started off with a 3.8, but it plummeted during sophomore and junior year. During that time, I failed 2 courses: Intermediate Accounting and Corporate Finance, and retook them getting B+'s in them. I graduated with a cumulative GPA of 3.36.

My question is, how badly will this hurt me once AdCom sees my official transcript? I have leadership experience outside of work as I am on the board for my county's Boys and Girls Club and volunteer at another organization.

Thank you for your help.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:5 members

by mcbMcK » Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:24 pm
angrybird89 wrote:I will have been working in Commercial Banking for 4 years and want to apply to top programs with the goal of breaking into Investment Banking.
Will I be competitive for M7 Programs?

<<snip>>

My question is, how badly will this hurt me once AdCom sees my official transcript? I have leadership experience outside of work as I am on the board for my county's Boys and Girls Club and volunteer at another organization.

Thank you for your help.

Dear Angrybird89,

Here are a few thoughts that come to mind reading your post:
  1. Your transcripts are what they are and they arent going anywhere. The best you can do is to ensure all other factors contributing to your application are rock solid. That too depends on the kind of schools you are targeting. While your GMAT may be good for lower ranked schools, you may have a tough time staking a claim at M7 due to this handicap and a less than stellar GMAT