Expert help needed: Very strange admissions situation

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Legendary Member
Followed by:11 members
Hi,
I'm looking to apply for a US or Canadian MBA in the fall of 2015, and I have a VERY strange admissions problem that I just can't wrap my head around.

I'm currently a small business owner since the last almost three years, but previously I had worked with the Business Process Outsourcing (BPO)unit of TCS, Tata Consultancy Services (formerly known as Citigroup Global Services), for over over five years. They were a BPO company providing services to various subsidiaries of Citigroup. This five-year tenure is where I got most of my grooming, and which is the pillar of my resume, and one that I'm sure will make my entry into a good school possible.

My issues are as follows:

(1) TCS follows a hierarchy that's very, very typical of any Indian company. From the bottom up, the titles/designations were: (1) Band 1 -- Process Associate (2) Band 2 -- Senior Process Associate (3) Band 3 -- Team Leader (4) Band 4 -- Assistant Manager and so on and so forth. This is how HR records an individual's employment with the company.

But, since all of the units/departments in the company were outsourced from the US, the job functions were allocated as per the US hierarchy, which didn't match with a person's job title on paper as per HR's records.

How do I make this clear to the ad-com, considering that I'm one of those whose job responsibility was completely out-of-sync with my designation on paper?

(2) Secondly, in the company, a person's job title (Band 1 -- Process Associate, Band 2 -- Senior Process Associate etc.) didn't dictate or restrict his job function. Band promotions were given more on the basis of tenure than anything else, where a person would get a band hike every 3 years, with an associated salary hike. Band promotions didn't necessarily have any connection to the actual work he/she did.