Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Doctor

by Ubiquitous » Sun Jun 15, 2014 10:52 am
Hello there.

Here is my story:
27/Male/Indian
Qualifications : MBBS, MD Psychiatry
Work Experience : 4 years
Languages : 5 (Hindi, English, Punjabi, Kannada, Marathi)

I went to a private medical college in North India for my MBBS, where I was an average student, and then joined a prestigious college for my MD in Psychiatry in the south of India. I am currently in my final year and will be finishing it in April 2015. There has been no gap in my college education and post grad. All post graduate medical courses in India require the resident to work in either a government hospital, or a charitable/free hospital set up by a private college. Besides this, our department also organises a monthly visit to a destitute home nearby where we go and treat patients for free. In addition to this, to mark the 50th anniversary of my college, in 2013, the University had organised free health camps all over North Karnataka every sunday for the entire year, which I attended once every month. I have also done an original 1 year research during my residency.

I am working with a team of residents and consultants, so I am pretty well versed with team work and also have a fair idea of how hierarchy in an organisation works, since I have worked from being an intern to now being the senior most post graduate resident in my department. I have also taken several teaching classes for undergraduate medical students, and presented in excess of 20 seminars in the course of my residency.

As regards my leadership experiences, I was a house captain in junior school. Also, my family owns a hospital where I am a director, but I am not actively involved in the management of the hospital. But my most significant leadership role was as a lead singer for 4 years in my school choir where I pretty much picked who sung what.