• Economist Test Prep
    Free Trial & Practice Exam
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Economist Test Prep
  • Magoosh
    Magoosh
    Study with Magoosh GMAT prep

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Magoosh
  • EMPOWERgmat Slider
    1 Hour Free
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    EMPOWERgmat Slider
  • Veritas Prep
    Free Veritas GMAT Class
    Experience Lesson 1 Live Free

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Veritas Prep
  • e-gmat Exclusive Offer
    Free Resources for GMAT Preparation
    Practice Questions, Videos & webinars

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    e-gmat Exclusive Offer
  • Target Test Prep
    5-Day Free Trial
    5-day free, full-access trial TTP Quant

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Target Test Prep
  • PrepScholar GMAT
    5 Day FREE Trial
    Study Smarter, Not Harder

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    PrepScholar GMAT
  • Kaplan Test Prep
    Free Practice Test & Review
    How would you score if you took the GMAT

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Kaplan Test Prep

Clarification reg Princeton Review

This topic has 6 member replies
greatman Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
13 Dec 2006
Posted:
55 messages
Followed by:
1 members
Thanked:
2 times

Clarification reg Princeton Review

Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:01 pm
I think there are two books in market...one is with DVD...

I do not want with DVD ...my question is

One without DVD has some CD or link for PR tests???

Please comment I wanna buy one...

With DVD is for 50 $ CAN
Without DVD is 17 $ CAN
Here is the link

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/0375765522/ref=pd_rvi_gw_1/701-6956514-1445122

Need free GMAT or MBA advice from an expert? Register for Beat The GMAT now and post your question in these forums!
isisalaska Community Manager Default Avatar
Joined
10 Dec 2006
Posted:
363 messages
Followed by:
2 members
Thanked:
7 times
Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:53 pm
Ha
That's was similar to my question. The one with the CD is the 2006 edition, not the 2007 , that's the one I am bying since Johnny mentioend that the DVD was useles...

_________________
Isis Alaska

isisalaska Community Manager Default Avatar
Joined
10 Dec 2006
Posted:
363 messages
Followed by:
2 members
Thanked:
7 times
Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:54 pm
However, a note of caution, I saw similar reviews at Amazon like this one...

Reviewer: Glen Mehn (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews

I got this book and took the GMAT yesterday. I scored a 750 on the GMAT, and many of the techniques were VERY useful. One of the big bonuses that the book touts, however, is "4 free online practice tests." These tests were horrible.

Compare: Using the ETS/GMAC practice tests, I scored 650 ad 690, then 750 on the actual test.

When I took the PR practice tests online, the site was slow and buggy, I scored 570-610, and several of the questions were just plain wrong: Bad editing, etc. There were several that had wrong answers inthe math section. I remember one question in reading comprehension where they used "Antebellum" in place of "Postbellum". A fairly important distinction.

By all means, get the book-- just get the $14 one. The extras in the DVD and online tests are not worth your money.

_________________
Isis Alaska

greatman Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
13 Dec 2006
Posted:
55 messages
Followed by:
1 members
Thanked:
2 times
Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:35 pm
Hi eveerybody and thaks for the comments...

So what I concluded is that one do not get practice tests for low price book...Am I right?

I was thinking to buy book only for practice tests.....

GMAT/MBA Expert

Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:27 pm
greatman wrote:
Hi eveerybody and thaks for the comments...

So what I concluded is that one do not get practice tests for low price book...Am I right?

I was thinking to buy book only for practice tests.....
You're correct. The lower-priced book does not come with practice tests.

_________________
Sorin Istrate - Community Manager

MBA Watch - Your one-stop shop for all MBA program research

isisalaska Community Manager Default Avatar
Joined
10 Dec 2006
Posted:
363 messages
Followed by:
2 members
Thanked:
7 times
Post Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:36 am
Buy an used one with the CD (2006 edition) at Amazon.com for $14
Very Happy , good deal

_________________
Isis Alaska

wunderkind Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
15 Dec 2006
Posted:
26 messages
Post Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:09 pm
Unless you just need strategy, then yes, it's definitely worth buying the one with the DVD. The tests are very close to the real thing and I have found them to be very helpful, esp the answer explanations.

Best Conversation Starters

1 Vincen 181 topics
2 lionsshare 46 topics
3 Roland2rule 45 topics
4 lheiannie07 44 topics
5 ardz24 32 topics
See More Top Beat The GMAT Members...

Most Active Experts

1 image description Brent@GMATPrepNow

GMAT Prep Now Teacher

129 posts
2 image description Rich.C@EMPOWERgma...

EMPOWERgmat

113 posts
3 image description Jay@ManhattanReview

Manhattan Review

111 posts
4 image description GMATGuruNY

The Princeton Review Teacher

102 posts
5 image description DavidG@VeritasPrep

Veritas Prep

89 posts
See More Top Beat The GMAT Experts