Welcome! Check out our free B-School Guides to learn how you compare with other applicants.
Login or Register

Clarification reg Princeton Review

This topic has 6 member replies
greatman Rising GMAT Star Default Avatar
Joined
13 Dec 2006
Posted:
55 messages
Followed by:
1 members
Thanked:
1 times
Clarification reg Princeton Review Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:01 pm
I think there are two books in market...one is with DVD...

I do not want with DVD ...my question is

One without DVD has some CD or link for PR tests???

Please comment I wanna buy one...

With DVD is for 50 $ CAN
Without DVD is 17 $ CAN
Here is the link

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/0375765522/ref=pd_rvi_gw_1/701-6956514-1445122

Need free GMAT or MBA advice from an expert? Register for Beat The GMAT now and post your question in these forums!
isisalaska Community Manager Default Avatar
Joined
10 Dec 2006
Posted:
363 messages
Followed by:
2 members
Thanked:
7 times
Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:53 pm
Ha
That's was similar to my question. The one with the CD is the 2006 edition, not the 2007 , that's the one I am bying since Johnny mentioend that the DVD was useles...

_________________
Isis Alaska

isisalaska Community Manager Default Avatar
Joined
10 Dec 2006
Posted:
363 messages
Followed by:
2 members
Thanked:
7 times
Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:54 pm
However, a note of caution, I saw similar reviews at Amazon like this one...

Reviewer: Glen Mehn (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews

I got this book and took the GMAT yesterday. I scored a 750 on the GMAT, and many of the techniques were VERY useful. One of the big bonuses that the book touts, however, is "4 free online practice tests." These tests were horrible.

Compare: Using the ETS/GMAC practice tests, I scored 650 ad 690, then 750 on the actual test.

When I took the PR practice tests online, the site was slow and buggy, I scored 570-610, and several of the questions were just plain wrong: Bad editing, etc. There were several that had wrong answers inthe math section. I remember one question in reading comprehension where they used "Antebellum" in place of "Postbellum". A fairly important distinction.

By all means, get the book-- just get the $14 one. The extras in the DVD and online tests are not worth your money.

_________________
Isis Alaska

greatman Rising GMAT Star Default Avatar
Joined
13 Dec 2006
Posted:
55 messages
Followed by:
1 members
Thanked:
1 times
Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:35 pm
Hi eveerybody and thaks for the comments...

So what I concluded is that one do not get practice tests for low price book...Am I right?

I was thinking to buy book only for practice tests.....

GMAT/MBA Expert

beatthegmat Site Admin
Joined
13 Feb 2006
Posted:
6539 messages
Followed by:
800 members
Thanked:
1125 times
Post Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:27 pm
greatman wrote:
Hi eveerybody and thaks for the comments...

So what I concluded is that one do not get practice tests for low price book...Am I right?

I was thinking to buy book only for practice tests.....
You're correct. The lower-priced book does not come with practice tests.

_________________
Sorin Istrate - Community Manager

MBA Watch - Your one-stop shop for all MBA program research

isisalaska Community Manager Default Avatar
Joined
10 Dec 2006
Posted:
363 messages
Followed by:
2 members
Thanked:
7 times
Post Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:36 am
Buy an used one with the CD (2006 edition) at Amazon.com for $14
Very Happy , good deal

_________________
Isis Alaska

wunderkind Just gettin' started! Default Avatar
Joined
15 Dec 2006
Posted:
26 messages
Post Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:09 pm
Unless you just need strategy, then yes, it's definitely worth buying the one with the DVD. The tests are very close to the real thing and I have found them to be very helpful, esp the answer explanations.

Best Conversation Starters

1 abhasjha 40 topics
2 shibsriz@gmail.com 30 topics
3 phanikpk 18 topics
4 qwerty12321 16 topics
5 DevB 14 topics
See More Top Beat The GMAT Members...

Most Active Experts

1 image description GMATGuruNY

The Princeton Review Teacher

170 posts
2 image description Brent@GMATPrepNow

GMAT Prep Now Teacher

168 posts
3 image description ceilidh.erickson

Manhattan GMAT Teacher

44 posts
4 image description CriticalSquareMBA

Critical Square

36 posts
5 image description Matt@VeritasPrep

Veritas Prep

27 posts
See More Top Beat The GMAT Experts