Boston College Vs William and Mary

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:640

Boston College Vs William and Mary

by ashookk » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:53 pm
Hello, I got admitted into both Boston and W&M with decent amount of scholarship. I am seriously not able to decide between W&M and Boston. Since I am an International Student, things are even worse. I have been admitted at Boston for the june program with some scholarship. By taking the summer program, will it help me to get placed during the fall? Since I will be doing some kind of course work, will the recruiters look at my performance? and also boston is a bigger market than Virginia. In W&M, I will be directly entering the fall term and I think my chances of getting a job would be less. On top of this, the cost difference is around 15 to 20k. Is Boston worth the extra 15k? Please do help out to make a decision.

Thanks

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:6 members

by MiroKaz » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:33 am
Ashookk-

Congrats on the curse of having options.

At The MBA Show we see 6 reasons to go to B-school: Education, Pedigree, Self-Gratification, Fun, Networking, Escape from a prior path, and Finding a Mate.

Depending on what your priorities are, I think W&M and BC are pretty equivalent. The only one that I can't speak to is how well the network and pedigree of those schools will reach back to your home country (if you plan to return). I would weigh that very heavily, and then use your instincts on Fun and Self-gratification (which will make you feel better about yourself) to make the decision.

Best,
Miro K.
@MiroKaz

Check out the highlights of MBA life every week at
https://www.TheMBAShow.com

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by phamtrisi » Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:41 pm
You know what they say?

If you have 2 options, toss a coin. Not that it will help you decide, but in that split second, you suddenly realize what you want most.