Best test prep course? (E-GMAT, MGMAT, EmpowerGMAT, Veritas)

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi All,

I would love to hear your thoughts, as I am seeking advice on how to move forward from here. I started studying for the GMAT around March of this year and used the MGMAT online interactive course, along with their study guides. My Quant is a little inconsistent and my Verbal needs a lot of work. My confidence is a little low when answering Verbal questions; I think this has impacted my performance on the tests. Below are my scores:

1/31 - MGMAT 1 - 480 (Q31/V28)
7/03 - MGMAT 2 - 560 (Q36/V31)
7/30 - MGMAT 3 - 530 (Q39/V24)
8/06 - MGMAT 4 - 590 (Q42/V31)
8/13 - MGMAT 5 - 580 (Q36/V33)
8/20 - MGMAT 6 - 570 (Q36/V32)
8/29 - Real GMAT 1 - 560 (Q37/V31/AWA6/IR3)
9/05 - GMAT Prep 1 - 580 (Q39/V31)
9/11 - GMAT Prep 2 - 590 (Q44/V28)
9/18 - GMAT Prep 3 - 600 (Q40/V32)
9/24 - GMAT Prep 4 - 610 (Q43/V31)
10/01 - Real GMAT 2 - 530 (Q38/V25/IR6)

My observations on Quant:
- DS is much stronger than PS
- PS weakness areas are: Percents, Algebraic Translations, Combinatorics/Probability, and more complex Geometry problems
- Seems like my foundation is decent, but need to close some of the gaps and get more consistent in my Quant performance. I would like to consistently score in the Q44 range.
- I practice all OG questions under timed conditions (2 minutes per problem)
- Timing isn't much of a concern, I usually finish the practice test just in time

My observations on Verbal:
- Initially, CR came very easily, but for some reason switched and now I struggle with this section the most. I need to practice anticipating the answer before reading answer choices. I can usually identify the question type.
- RC, I go back and forth on reading for meaning vs. skimming the passage on the first pass. It seems like reading for meaning helps me the most, but is way more time consuming. I'm 50/50 on all question types: Main Idea, Specific Detail, Inference