Ask MBA Crystal Ball

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by jayvardhan » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:00 am
Hi Sameer,

here is a quick run down of my profile..

2007: Graduated from University of Mumbai with BE (Mechanical) 70% (final year).
I was recruited on campus by Godrej & Boyce for customer services and projects engineer trainee.
During my one year training I completed one pilot project of installing security systems at Hyderabad international airport ( project was worth 2.5 crores and I was supervising a team of 5 technicians).

2008: M.Sc in Financial Services from University of Ulster (UK).
I was offered part scholarship for the course and there was an integrated internship component to the degree offered by Citigroup. However, on the day of my first lecture lehman brothers went bust and things changed dramatically (The paid internship became a voluntary one ).

2009: I graduated with 66% from University of Ulster (UK). I also did a 6 month IB internship as a re-engineering analyst. While doing my internship I also did a dissertation for Pioneer Investments, Dublin to validate their macro investment strategy for Indian indices.

From April'2010 to Jan'12 I worked in following contract based assignments in London
April'10-Sep'10): Worked with Bank of America in derivative documentation..

Sept'10-Aug'11: Worked as a FX institutional sales analyst with Citi..

Sept'11'Jan'12: Worked as a Business associate at RBS group private wealth management..

I had to relocate to India for personal reasons in Feb'12.
Through my brief international stint I have realised the impact of the brand of school and alumni network have on the future prospects of the students. Right now I am working with Kotak Mahindra in Equity Sales but I would like to start preparing for 2014 intake and plan to take Gmat in Sep this year.