Anyone affected by financial crisis?

Let's talk about...whatever!
This topic has expert replies

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members

Anyone affected by financial crisis?

by beatthegmat » Fri Sep 19, 2008 2:53 pm
Curious to hear whether the Beat The GMAT community has been touched by the current financial crisis?

I hope everyone is faring well.
Beat The GMAT | The MBA Social Network
Community Management Team

Research Top GMAT Prep Courses:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/gmat-prep-courses

Research The World's Top MBA Programs:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/school

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:15 members

by VP_Jim » Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:59 pm
I know that we (Veritas) are getting a lot more students than usual. When the economy isn't performing well, people head back to school in droves. It was the same when I graduated college in 2002 with a history degree - everyone besides accounting majors had trouble finding jobs... hence, I went to grad school and got a master's in accounting :)

So, I think this will be a tough year for admissions. Students should work hard to "beat the GMAT" as much as they can, since the competition will be stiff this year.
Jim S. | GMAT Instructor | Veritas Prep

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin

by beatthegmat » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:25 pm
Not surprised to hear that Veritas is getting more business than usual. Lots and lots of smart people suddenly out of jobs, and they need alternatives.

Good luck to the folks applying to b-school this year!

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:750+

by VP_MBA_Guru » Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:02 pm
Great forum -

Interestingly, I have gotten a lot of inquires about the state of MBA job prospects in a weak economy. We all hear about layoffs on Wall Street, but how will this impact MBA hiring; not only finance-related jobs but elsewhere -

NP
Nikhil P. | Admissions Consultant | Veritas Prep

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin

by beatthegmat » Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:35 pm