770 (Q50, V44) or how I stopped worrying and loved the GMAT

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:9 members
First of all, I would like to thank all the beathegmat.com community - the help I got from you in shaping the process of learning was 80% of the success.

Here I want to describe the way I prepared to the exam as well as to list some useful links.

Background
31, male, Russian. Always was successful in quantitative tests, verbals always were worse as my English is not native
Real GMAT was held on May 26th. Actually I did a little worse than expected in Quant (I've expected 51+), but much better in Verbal (I've expected 41). This is my first attempt.

Mock examinations
  • Held in the end of March, PowerPrep 1. 650 (Q45, V34)
    May 1st - 720 (Q50 V39)
    Week before exam - 760 (Q51 V41)
    Thursday - 760 (Q51 V41)
    Friday - 760 (Q51 V41)
Key tips
  • Start with the full simulation of GMAT via free software (PowerPrep or GMATPrep).
    Analyze your strong and weak sides by the results of your first exam
    Make a schedule based on this analysis. Really, that helps.
    Prepare to spend at the least 2-3 hours each day and 8-12 hours a day on weekends.
    Practice, practice, practice. Use the official guides for practice problems. To read all the approaches takes you 2-3 days. All the rest time you should practice.
    Monitor, monitor, monitor. Use the test grid (see below) every time you pass a practice test. Read all the explanations and all forums until you understand exactly why you were wrong in your answer.
    Keep track of your progress. Have mock tests every 1 week or every 2 weeks and see in which sections you became better