730 (V46, Q45). GMAT beaten but not broken

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

730 (V46, Q45). GMAT beaten but not broken

by collster37 » Sat Dec 06, 2014 10:37 am
Hey everyone, I've been stalking these boards for around two months now, since the day I registered to take the GMAT. I just finished my test a few hours ago, and I'm seeking some of the sage advice I've seen all over these forums for my current situation.

Here's the full breakdown of my score:

AWA: don't know, but I am confident this will be solid.

IR: 6 (67th percentile, this was pretty surprisingly low for me, but I did not prepare at all for this section save for the parts I did in practice CAT's I taken previously)

Quantitative: 45 (63rd percentile, very disappointed in this part of the test because I paced myself extremely poorly and ran out of time. I ended up guessing on about 5 of the last 10 questions to finish all the questions in time. I had never had pacing issues on any of the previous seven practice tests I had take. I think I had some test day jitters that really dug me into a hole early on in this section.)

Verbal: 46 (99th percentile, solid and this is about where I expected to score. this section is intuitive and easy for me.)

I'm not interested in applying to MBA programs, and that's not why I took the GMAT. My life's ambition is to go to a top business school for a Ph.D., and my understanding is that these are very competitive programs where high GMAT's are a must. My score is 96th percentile, and based on some very cursory research, seems to be a good enough score to warrant consideration at top Ph.D. programs. However, I have a few concerns.