650 (44Q;35V)...@#$%!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

650 (44Q;35V)...@#$%!

by Shaki » Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:50 pm
Hi Eric and the forumers!

First of all, let me express my deep gratitude for all the materials you guys have made available on the forum. I would like to emphasize the usefulness of the flashcards; it seemed as if they were designed especially for me, for they stressed namely mistakes I tend to make. Also, I liked the folder with stuff for permutation/combination/probability.

I’m 21 and I have 2 years of work experience and a GPA of 4.0 (one year of undergrad. spent in one of American universities).

Back in November 2006 I took the GMAT for the 1st time and the 4 month long preparation was obviously not enough: I got 600 (42Q,31V) and 5 for the essay (yeah, right, who cares about the essay?!). One of my mistakes was that I treated all the questions equally, while I should have concentrated on the first 10. My preparation consisted of GMAT for Dummies (hey! Stop laughing! It was a good start for the one who had never heard about the nightmare called GMAT! ), then was Kaplan 800, Arco 2006 (I liked this one) and the OG 10th edition.

When preparing for the second try, I availed myself of the www.beatthegmat.com and must admit that it was very-very useful. I reviewed the tough questions from the OG 10th Edition (thanks to Eric for the classification of the questions in excel file), looked through the Kaplan 800 and also took the Kaplan Prep tests and, have to say, got pretty nice scores on it.