5 Biggest GMAT Studying Mistakes

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:12 members
GMAT Score:770

5 Biggest GMAT Studying Mistakes

by BestGMATEliza » Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:55 pm
Hi guys, I am a GMAT tutor and worked with a lot of students who have had similar flaws in their studying habits, which have hurt their scores. I thought I would share them with you, so that you can avoid making the same mistakes:

Mistake #1: Not taking notes
There is a ton of GMAT content to learn and remember, especially for the Quant and SC sections. Unless you have some sort of superhuman memory, you are not going to remember it all just by reading a book or sitting in class. That is why it is crucial to take notes, preferably by hand. A study published in Psychological Science demonstrates that students who took notes by hand, performed better than students who took notes on a laptop. So even though it may be tedious and take longer, write everything down. There is no point in saving time by not taking notes if you are just going to forget everything anyway.

Mistake #2: Not starting with a practice test
A lot of people start creating their study plan without understanding their studying needs. This is a big mistake and could cause you to waste a lot of time studying things that you don't need to. This is why the most important first step is to assess your needs by taking a practice test. That way, you can know how close you are to your goal score and what your weaknesses are and then plan your study accordingly.

Mistake #3: Not reviewing answers